Stihl saws

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HUSKYMAN

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Just curious, but why doesnt Stihl advertise the rpm ranges of their saws. I have never used one but judging from other people it sounds like they do not turn as high as Husqvarna and the Japanese sawmakers. What kind of rpms do they run and do they make more torque in the cut? I know a lot about two strokes and I know they like rpms. Thanks

Im not a expert on rpms, but Stih uses bph, I have sold them for yrs. still dont know what that is. I guess that what read & read & just eat the books means.

As I recall, BHP stands for British Horsepower, which equals 550 foot-lbs per second, or 745.7 watts. Really, it is a measurement of "work."

In my experience, horsepower is less a component of the ability of a saw to make a cut as displacement, which roughly translates into torque, and the rpms, which directly translate into how many cutters are going to contact the wood directly below the kerf.

As for why Stihl does not publish their rpms, that remains a mystery to me.

BPH stands for Base Horsepower
Stihl dealers can tell you what the rpm for a particular saw is if you ask
They range anywhere from about 11.000 to 14,500 rpm depending on model
Horsepower is a more reliable way to rate a saw than is c.c's or cubic inches. Stihl makes some saws that are smaller cubes and put out more horsepower. This is especially true if you look at their string trimmers.
Stihl #1

You have two horsepower figures for any given engine.

ihp(indicated horsepower):this is the theoretical horsepower of an engine. It can be calculated using advanced math calculations and is the hp an engine could produce if there were no frictional losses inside the engine.