ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


026 carb problem

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by fred1799, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. fred1799

    fred1799 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Hi,
    I'm new to all this chain saw stuff. I have a Stihl 026. Starts and idles fine but when i go to cut wood the saw's rpm goes up by itself. Runs for a few seconds and then quits. Starts right back up and does the same thing over and over.Any help on where to start would be great or should I be taking it to a dealer.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. FATGUY

    FATGUY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,539
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Originally, ON Canada, now Cincinnati OH
    air leak perhaps?....
     
  3. xxl

    xxl AboristSite Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    na
    what kind of carb is it? Is it fully adjustable?
     
  4. fred1799

    fred1799 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Hi,

    It's the original carb. Yes it has adjustment screws in it. I haven't done anything with them. Wanted to do some research before i started messing with it.
     
  5. pioneerguy600

    pioneerguy600 Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    29,295
    Likes Received:
    3,721
    Location:
    N.S. Canada
    Sounds to me like the engine is leaning out, essentially running out of gas. This is sometimes caused by the fuel tank vent not working so air cannot get in the tank and gas can`t get to the carb. A plugged fuel filter, cracked fuel line to the carb, cracked impulse line or cracked/ torn carb boot can also cause this problem. Even the high and low settings on the jet screws could be the culprit or the carb may need a cleaning or a kit if the diaphragms are hardened,cracked or torn. A lot to look at but all have to be eliminated in an unknown reason for this problem.
    Pioneerguy600
     

Share This Page