044 Piston and cylinder kit.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

derailedbus

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'll start off by saying that I've got very little chainsaw knowledge, aside from using them, and apparently breaking them. My 044 finally died on me while cutting, and it now won't start. I figured it was bad gas and took the carb apart and cleaned it. It was filthy, but that wasn't the issue. I took the muffler cover off and can see that the piston is scored badly. Should I assume that the cylinder is shot as well? Now, upon research of the forum I've learned about the different size wrist pins, and my SN being 119402389, I'm guessing that it's the 10mm. Can anyone verify that for me? Also, Bailey's has kits, but they specify buying the kit as well as the 10mm piston assembly. Does anyone have the entire kit that I would need?
0501151846[1].jpg

Appreciate the help guys. Old-cat, I'll definitely try that before buying a new cylinder as well. Thanks Adirondackstihl for the info on kits. As far as the cause of it all, I'm completely oblivious. My uncle had the saw for most of my life, and I'm sure it wasn't maintained properly, based on some of the things I had to replace on it since I've had it. As for me, I've just recently learned of the damage old or under-lubricated fuel can do, so I'm guessing that has some bearing on it. When I cleaned out the carb, there was noticeable gunk it it, so I cleaned everything and pretty sure the fuel line and filter were working properly. And I'll admit, I've got no idea how to check the other three on your list. I know what the impulse hose is from reading other posts, but no idea what it does, and haven't even dug deep enough to check the other two. Forgive my ignorance, but I truly appreciate the knowledge on this site, and everyone's willingness to share.

oo