160,000 BF cotton wood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dirtscooter5

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Curious everyones thoughts on Logging cottonwood. I am a farmer that cuts a lot of wood and has felled quite a few trees. We had a logger come out and look at some acreage we have along the Missouri river he estimated the 160,000 BF. He pays around .10 cents if he cuts it and would pay us 20-24 cents we cut it. I have a 241, 362, 461, and 660. and we have a 110 hp front assist tractor for skidding. Would I be crazy to take this on as a winter time project? probably me and one other guy, maybe 2 other guys.

Thanks Nick

as in any venture, location and elevation of ground! cottonwood should be bottom land which is prone to soft ground along with flooding! if these conditions are acceptable working order conditions it is doable! 160,000 board feet( 2 cord per 1000 bf) of logs are in the neighborhood of 320 cords. with that cordage and working a 40 hour week? and doing 5 to 10 cords a day for two man team?(not knowing before hand the current winter conditions ) this is acceptable working with non forest logging equipment! timber size is the mean of the scale for your question! these cords of 320 are in the figure of 32 semi loads with an average of 10 cds. per. weight limits may very! ?? $38,000 is a paycheck @ .24 a board foot. question is ? log length(whole tree trunk) or bucked into a desired length??

depends on what else you have going, cotton wood is pretty much worthless out here, though a guy can get some money out of it, but its barely worth the effort to cut it.

so you could do alright just having some one else log it, end of the day you get a check regardless, If you decide to log it, then yer looking at a whole lot of low pay for a whole lot of hard work.