543xp vs 241cm Help!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FL_Cutter

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys, looking at both saw and can't decide. I can't put my hands on either saw in my area I'm a diehard Husky guy or the choice would be easy. I'm a tech at a rental company and we are a Stihl dealer. Not so much chainsaws but more industrial they classify it. Both saw are within $5 of each other for me. I'm looking for someone who has side by side experience with them. I know the 241 is a great saw and if the husky runs with it then I'd be very happy with it. BTW 545 is out had one didn't care alot for autotune. It had small issues. I prefer a reg carb.

I know I am not contributing to the answer you seek, but in that size range it's kind of hard to avoid AT/M-tronic in a "pro" type saw these days..

Might swing over to the tradin' post?? I have seen a few 346xp's on there recently for pretty fair prices, in fact about the same or a little less than what I have seen the 543xp's priced at.. Seems like that might be what the Doc ordered for you... Same size range as your old 545, little more power, conventional carb... Plus you would be a member of the elite 346xp owners club! ;)

Thanks I know the 241 is "autotune" but I have the software at work to work on it so not such a big deal. But that is another reason for me to lean toward the 543.

I've considered a 346, just got bug for one of these "little" guys. You know ole' CAD flair up lol

Copy that Sir... Mine has been flaring up lately as well... But I'm yearning to head the other direction. I have been fixing saws for a few friends and they are starting to throw some money at me... Probably going to squirrel away some to save for a 394 builder project..

I'll stop junking up your thread now.. Good luck with your decision. :)

Which one can u push on a little bit if needed? Can they handle it even?