any of you have a 6.0 ford deisel?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mark2496

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I've been overloading my f150 for the last 16 years, I need a 3/4 ton. Looked at a 06 6.0 today that was priced right. The dealer said the 6.0 were notorious for head bolts coming loose but they were fixed by using different bolts???

Any how, its got 220,000 miles on it so I guess this one was fixed or didn't have that issue.

The truck looks pretty clean, just wondering if at 220000 miles it would last.

Seems like all the gas trucks in my price range have a ton of miles on them too.

Ya think I'd get another 100k miles out of it?

Thanks

If it's in the 4-7k price range might be worth the gamble.

The proper fix is to use studs vs bolts. Also the EGR cooler is a high failure point too.

The miles are a crap shoot too. In any case it's getting on it's it life, even if babyied and all the maint done, it's still up there in miles.

problem with 6.0 is the egr - used to be you could add a delete kit ,but new EPA rules that's out the window unless you can lic. it as a farm vehicle . Those things are filling up dealer lots fast now- repairing an EGR problem involves pulling the intake manifold big dollars unless diy then you go for awhile and can anticipate redoing it again.