Axe recommendations please

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrantSFGDS

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm in the market for an axe and would like some input. I've been cutting trees for firewood for several years now but have only used saws and splitters. I haven't touched an axe since I was a kid. I want to add an axe to my arsenal but research has shown me that there are way too many options for me to figure out. I want the best axe I can get for falling ash trees in the 15-20 inch diameter range, nothing frozen. Maybe some other assorted hardwoods but mainly ash. I may buck a few but no splitting. I like the Autine and Tuatahi axes but they are probably overkill for my needs. I want something that eats through a tree! What say?

Yeah, that's what I'm trying to avoid, lol. I'm in that situation with saws already. I just want one axe for falling, even a race axe that's suitable for hardwood will do but I don't think I need to go that crazy.

Council Tools 4-5# rafting pattern with desired handle length, longer makes a harder swing, shorter is easier to carry.

Spend 10 minutes with a stone, learn to swing around a 45deg angle, and you'll be getting firewood chunks with every other swing.

Learn to sharpen it correctly and it will last all day in tough wood. Don't be using no grinders on em, file and stones only, files for the big dings, stones to shave hair, shouldn't be a straight angle, more of a curve, makes a stronger edge, takes a little practice but worth it.

Councils are right around $40-50, made in USA, available at baileys (a fine channel sponsor) or any saw shop worth the name.

Failing that, Gerber makes some good stuff, if you like plastic handles