Bailing out of a dead tree

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ron_Brown

Reaction score
I am removing branches at the 50 ft level from a dead tree.
I am tied in at a height of 65 ft in a neighboring live tree, 10-15 ft away.

Of course I am climbing the live tree and traversing over to the dead one to remove the limbs. My question is: how would you bail out of the dead tree if it were to begin to fail? I have free air to swing into, and would not hit the live tree if I bailed out.

Any input would be appreciated.
I am not a professional Arborist, but I am a very serious climber.
I am not using a chainsaw. I have had supervised climbs as well as reading "The Tree's Climbers Companion" and most of "Fundamentals of General Tree Work".
I have no intention of doing anything I would consider an unreasonable risk, and I am approaching this task properly eauipped and obeying all safety precautions I can think of.
Here's your chance to add more to my safety precautions, instead of just tell me i'm crazy.

Respectfully: Ron Brown

Bailing out?? Hopefully you won't need to, but you need to keep your climbing line (in the good tree) tight at all times so you don't have a freefall, just a swing. You also need to make sure you don't have a lanyard on the bad tree if you are worried that a cut might bring it down. Make sure you are aware at all times the way the dead tree may fall and where you will be in that picture -you don't want to be down in the lower or mid crown and have the top come down on you, you need to always work from and stay in the top so you won't take any smacks in the head (wear a helmet with chin strap!).