Bandit 2100SP. Cannot make cutter wheel swing at all. Please help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Apachedesert

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Please help. I am totally new to stump grinding. I bought a 2007 Bandit 2100SP stump grinder on Friday and drove 650 miles to get home, and I can't make the cutter wheel swing at all from side to side. I can't make it move at all. This grinder has the remote, wireless control box that executes all other functions just fine. It is a hydraulic system. I am assuming (hoping) there is simply a setting that is off, perhaps a safety setting of some sort that I don't know about. I will inquire from the people I bought it from on Monday during business hours. But today is Sunday and really had my heart set on grinding some stumps. Can anyone help? By the way, I cannot even locate manual levers to do this either. But again, all other functions on the remote work just fine. If you have the ability to calll me, please do so. 919-637-7003

I've run a 2100 but never with remote and it was an older model. Have you looked for a safety switch?
Does it have the side protection wing? If so, there might be a safety switch that won't allow movement until the wing if fully open.
Have you lifted the panels to look inside to where the remote operates the hydraulic switches?
Post some pics, we might be able to help.

I know you're enthusiastic to use this machine, make sure you have proper PPE and panels (screens or plywood) to protect adjacent property from flying rocks.