buckingham harness shrinking?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lumberjacktech

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
hey guys. I have been climbing for about 8 years now. I have had three different saddles. I don't climb everyday or even every month for that matter. just kinda a part time thing when I do. I have noticed my waist belt getting stiffer and shorter. I haven't worn the harness in 4 months went to put it on this morning and the waist belt was way to small. now I have not gained a lot of weight/went up in pants size. I'm the same size I was 4 months ago. I had an old timer tell me if the saddle was not used often it would shrink. is this true? if so is there a cure? can I stretch it out again? or am I just out of luck and need to purchase another harness?

What kind of harness is it?

If it's all leather than yeah maybe a LITTLE BIT. But if not then I don't think a harness could ever shrink. However sitting around being unused in the wrong environment( super cold, wet, damp, overly hot (105*+) ) might not be the best thing for it.

What part do you think shrunk exactly?

What kind of harness is it?

If it's all leather than yeah maybe a LITTLE BIT. But if not then I don't think a harness could ever shrink. However sitting around being unused in the wrong environment( super cold, wet, damp, overly hot (105*+) ) might not be the best thing for it.

What part do you think shrunk exactly?

well its a weaver harness.. I think the leather its self. its stored in a building that's dry but temp fluctuate winter temps here are 50-60 during the day 20-30 at night

well its a weaver harness.. I think the leather its self. its stored in a building that's dry but temp fluctuate winter temps here are 50-60 during the day 20-30 at night
You might've just gained some inches in the waists and not noticed it. Especially if you're not climbing every week.