Building a 101b.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

burl1984

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have been building a vintage 101b for a few months now and had tons of trouble with the OEM BDC14 carburetors.

I posted a bunch on this thread.
http://www.arboristsite.com/community/threads/mcculloch-carburetors.122113/page-7#post-4809797

Here is a current modification that I have done. It'a a Mikuni SBN 38mm jetski carburetor adapted with a homemade adapter. I was given the advice to use this carburetor over the oem bdc carburtetors by Fireball Racing in central CA.

Let me know what you think, I'm hoping to be a little more competitive with this saw than I have been with my 3120xp.

I still need to mount the fuel tank better before I run it too much more. The plan is also to fab up an air filter mount as well and run a green weenie filter. I'm planning on running it at the North Fork Lumberjack show on July 6th. Hopefully i can get a couple of test runs in first. There will be a few SP125's and 101b's at this show as well. I'll see if I can get videos of all the cuts to compare mine.

I have a BDC on mine and have no issues so maybe I'm lucky. I had to find a needle spring that was stiff enough to not allow flooding. Also I run the lever .010 below the gasket surface also run a full 1/4" fuel line so no restrictions.

If you can fabricate a mount, a Napa 6637 air filter would be both hilariously large and highly effective. The thing is about the size of a small child's torso. The outlet on it is 4 inches. Adequate for some 450 hp 6-8 liter diesels.