bull rope for pulling trees over

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

talcott

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
hello

i am a power lineman by trade and i also do line clearance. i sometimes have to use a bull rope to pull a tree over or just for a lil insurance that the tree doesnt get away from me.

what type of rope and what size do you pros use?

i climb poles but not trees...i use a bucket to top out the trees.

thank you

talcott

I rarely use a bullrope to pull a tree over. 1/2 inch has always worked well for me, a bull rope is just too darn heavy.

Really? They are only 6000lbs. b.s. new. After knots, wear, defects, who knows what the b.s. is now. I have pulled over some big trees, with a bad lean, you have to use the right tool for the job and be somewhat sure.

Pulling trees

talcott
I use 1/2" line too.
When working with my partner, we'll set a line high up in the tree and use a rope come-a-long to pull over the tree.
When working alone I'll set a rope up in the tree with my polesaw and pull it over with my Kubota tractor.
1/2" line will take a lot before it snaps.
When setting a line in a tree, higher the better as long as the leader your tying to is sound.

I also use 1/2" for 80-90% of all rigging/pulling. I have a 5/8" in the bin for the HUGE stuff.

All we use is NE Kernmantle, and Samson Stable braid ropes. NE for pulling mostly, and Stablke braid for the rigging.

Isnt 1/2" stable braid rated fro somewhere around 13,000??

talcott
1/2" line will take a lot before it snaps.