Causes of Saw Failure

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steph79

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm hoping to benefit from the experience of others and learn what the typical causes of saw failure are? I thought of this after reading a thread where somebody mentioned that they scored the piston and destroyed a saw after trying to cut through a difficult stump. It surprised me a little, I just assumed that as long as he was using the right fuel / oil mix that the saw could do it with enough time or worst case he maybe would burn out the chain and not get the job done.

I'm new to saws and just purchased my first good one, this has me a little concerned that I might be doing something stupid and wrecking my saw without realizing it. I do use 91 octane, ethanol free gas and run the saw dry after every use, are there other precautions that people take? Maybe letting the saw rest if its working hard or if its really hot out?

Any pointers would be appreciated.

You can lean-seize a saw by adjusting the carb wrong. The leaner the air-fuel mix, the faster the saw goes...
To a point...
And as it goes faster, it gets hotter of course. But the heat goes way up, because also with that heat, there is less lubrication, because the lube is in the gas/mix, and there is less of it.

Also can be leaned out by fuel line leaks, carb clogs, seal crankcase leaks, etc.
Bad fuel has killed many as well.
And of course, no lube in the fuel can do it as well.

Its nice yo have two saws in the heat. I run a tank through one then let it cool while using the other. Best thing is use a good sharp chain. Little heavy on the oil if its real hot. Could even mix it 32:1. I usually mix 40:1. Others may think different but that works for me.
Keep saw clean, blow out air cooling fins on cylinder and blow out around flywheel area. Keep air filter clean.