chain pitch. 3/8 vs .325

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MacG1986

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all. So I've got a 025 stihl with a 18in .325 bar and chain. What is the difference between the 2? Is one better than the other? Can I get a 3/8 sprocket for my 025 and if so should I?

I'm not sure I understand the question...I assume you are asking the difference in .325 and 3/8? This article does an ok job explaining pitch/gauge. article--> http://www.ereplacementparts.com/article/1507/Chainsaw_Chain_Measurements_Sizes_and_Types.html

I'm pretty new at all the fancy chainsaw talk, but it seems that .325 is more suited for saws under 50cc depending on what you are cutting. The less- aggressive pitch requires less power. I run 3.25 on both my 50cc saws. Although someone will say "there is a search button...blah blah." I am interested in what others post as well.

Happy forth.

.325 is probably the clear winner for an 025/250. There is regular 3/8 which that saw will NOT pull well, and 3/8 lo pro or picco, which will be ok. The two 3/8 are different in sprocket and bar tip and do not interchange well. Stay with .325 and keep a sharp non safety chain on it like RC or RS and I bet you will be happy.

Stay with .325. It has a thinner kerf and so it cuts faster and easier than 3/8. Even some 60cc saws come with .325 stock. But thats pretty much the cut off.

Hey sawmikaze so to run a 3/8 picco on the 025 I'd need a different drum right? Are they easy to swap?

They sell the drums for 3/8 picco on eBay.

Not sure if you need a picco bar to match though. I believe picco is .050 and .325 is .063 bar groove.

The 025 I use runs a 16" picco bar and chain and cuts very well. Light saw.