Chainsaw plastic crankcase question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

floriceeel

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if in a plastic crankcase the crankshaft spins in a plastic capsule or it has some kind of sealed metal protection inside(...the plastic cover).I am a beginner and I don't like the ideea that I own a plastic crankcase saw.A year ago when I bought my husqvarna 435 I had no idea about chainsaws...

the crank bearings sit in a metal cradle, which is then bolted to the plastic case. the cylinder is split in half at the the bearings in a horizontal plane. it makes replacing bearings much simpler, but there is no way to lower the cylinder if you want to increase compression. (yeah, i know it can be done with enough equipment and expertise)

I've said it before, I'll say it again:

My fire station uses an array of MS310's (which are plastic crankcase saws). They are used and abused by guys who don't understand that saws are actually living, breathing creatures who need love and care.

These saws, despite the flogging keep performing and cutting things that Andreas Stihl would roll over in his grave if he knew about.

Keep the filter clean, the fuel mixed right, chain sharp and tight and oil on the bar and the saw will do just fine, regardless of the crankcase material (so long as there's common sense in there, too).

Good luck and happy cutting!

i've said it before, i'll say it again:

My fire station uses an array of ms310's (which are plastic crankcase saws). They are used and abused by guys who don't understand that saws are actually living, breathing creatures who need love and care.

These saws, despite the flogging keep performing and cutting things that andreas stihl would roll over in his grave if he knew about.