Chipper Knives

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RJ-Az

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
We have two Vermeer disc chippers with feed rolls where I work. I am a mechanic for a highway dept. and do most of the knife changes on these machines.

My question is how often do any of you guys have to change knives. Operators say they cant feed or chip and the knives seem to be not real dull but I change em out and every things ok for several days of chippng then I have to do it again. We have our knives sharpened at the Vermeer dealer and they come back real sharp.

We also have an older Vermeer drum chipper that will chip a lot longer between PIA blade replacement. just thought I would see what others were doing on these machines

Frequency of changing chipper knives depends on what you are chipping and what is being put in the chipper besides wood.

Knives can last for as long as a few weeks or as little as one day....or even a few hours.

The knives need to be replaced/sharpened when they begin to lose their edge.

For best results they should also be kept sharp both for the chipping aspect as well as less wear on the entire machine.

Hope this helps.

We are running a lot of roadside brush and green and dry Mesquite through them. One crew boss and an inmate crew which I suspect like to throw a piece of tire tread in every so often as I have found evidence of rubber in the works. When the chipper is down they are picking up litter, I think I would rather chip brush than pick up litter but who knows what goes thru their heads.

One thing that sends me absolutely foaming-at-the-mouth ballistic is groundies who put rakings into the chipper instead of in the truck. Those little tiny pebbles may not seem like much, but they'll wreck a set of blades faster than you can say "SNOT".