Climbing Pine and Fir

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LoveToClimb

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello, i'm new to climbing and live in Colorado. I was wondering what the best method to climbing tall pine and douglas fir trees? I was thinking about it and it doesnt seem like the branches would be strong enough to hold a climber. Any thoughts or recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks!

depends how much you weigh i'm about 140 and never had a problem except maybe with dead trees but if you have all your belts on it shouldn't matter if one breaks.

Even the tiniest branch can hold a lot of weight close to the trunk of the tree. If unsure, run your tie-in point around the trunk with the limb on the backside of the tree.

Also try climbing and getting the feel for branches in small trees close to the ground. And I don't know just how new you are, but getting some instruction or finding an experienced partner will help as well.

Finally, rec climbing is unlike professional climbing in that you get to choose the tree you climb. If you don't trust the branches, find a different tree.

So you think a live branch with just a couple inches diameter could hold a 180lb guy as long as its close to the trunk? Thats good to hear.

Another question. Does any one know a technique to get a false crotch wrapped around the main trunk of the tree from the ground?

So you think a live branch with just a couple inches diameter could hold a 180lb guy as long as its close to the trunk? Thats good to hear.

Another question. Does any one know a technique to get a false crotch wrapped around the main trunk of the tree from the ground?