Combat Veteran getting back to work help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D.Co181Inf

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all. I've been a member here for a number of years, and am hoping my story hits the right people. Im a combat Veteran, I served 17 years in the Amy, did a combat Tour with n Infantry unit Baghdad,Iraq from 2007-2008. When I came home, things were fine, at first. After a few months, I realized things weren't all right, I couldn't handle people, work, my kids, my wife, life. I didn't realize it, but PTSD was hitting me hard. I was really angry, depressed. My wife told me I had to get help, so I went to the VA and talked to someone, eventually I had an evaluation and was given a 70% disability rating just for PTSD. One day i needed a very dead Willow tree taken down in my yard, I hired a local guy who climbed it...it was awesome to watch, I was inspired like never before, I was hooked. that night I started doing research, videos on YouTube, books, ********, arboristsite, etc... I couldn't get enough. I bought some starting gear, and started low and slow. Someone asked me to take a tree down for them, I had no idea what to charge ( sometimes I still don't ) I started doing the work more and more along side what regular work I could hold down. It was like therapy, I felt normal again, free. I don't know if it's the risk factor or not, ut I loved it. I continued to struggle with regular full time work and went through over 10 jobs in a few years, but the tree work was there, nights, weekends, etc.. I just couldn't get to it full time. In 2013, PTSD got the better of me and I just didn't want to deal with anything, I had to sell all of my gear and equipment to pay the bills, it really sucked and was a low pint for sure. Everyone told me not to, but my mind was a mess. Well, after a bunch of therapy, and Meds, I was talked into doing a t