Deal or no deal?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrider

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I've been selling firewood for 20 years and have sold 100+ cords a year for the last 5 years. It has become a time sucker for me as I try to keep with demand and produce as much as possible. For the last 2 years, I have had a tree company dropping off loads of logs. At first he was charging $100 a load which ranged between 2-3 cords per load. After a while he would only charge for some of the loads he dropped off then he stopped charging completely. Of course, this was never an issue with me! He as approached me a couple times about forming a partnership but I haven't gone for it. It's not that I don't trust him - I do. But this is just side work for me and I keep my equipment to a minimum. Plus, I work as little or as much as I want and when I want - the joy of being your own boss when it's side work and not the income you depend on. Yesterday, he calls and tells me he wants to sell firewood on his own and wants to know if I want to buy in bulk from him - cut, split, and delivered to my moms farm where I process and store all of my logs and firewood. He wants to deliver 120 cords at $130 a cord. I currently sell at $230 a cord. He knows I am picky about lengths and sizes of splits and that it's all oak. I can load a cord by myself in 20 minutes and most deliveries are less than 20 minutes away. Part of me wants to jump at this and part of me is a little apprehensive. It would be a pay as he delivers kind of deal so I could say stop at any point if the cords start coming in light or the wood isn't the quality I expect. Anyone ever get involved in something like this? Even if not, what are your thoughts?