ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


Did server change impact search function?

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by Guido Salvage, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. Guido Salvage

    Guido Salvage Supreme Saw Whoreder

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9,264
    Likes Received:
    3,396
    Location:
    Formerly Richmond, VA now Lexington, KY
    I have tried to do a couple of searches to help out folks with questions and I do not seem to bring up any of the old threads where I recall the topic being discussed. Is it just me, or are you only getting results from after the switch (or nothing at all)?
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  2. gemniii

    gemniii Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    va (but mainly own acreage in ms and vt)
    WHAT SEARCH FUNCTION :( :(

    I'm aggravated, but they'll get it fixed I hope. Try using <term> :arboristsite in google.

    i.e 660 :arboristsite
     
  3. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)
    My PC at home, every time I try to get on AS it shuts down the window :blob2:





    TT
     
  4. adkranger

    adkranger Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    NY
    Search not working at all for me.
     
  5. gemniii

    gemniii Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    va (but mainly own acreage in ms and vt)
    Are you sure someone (SWMBO?) didn't put a filter on it? :)
     
  6. oscar4883

    oscar4883 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    PA
    I was doing some searches last nite and came up with nothin really.
     
  7. teatersroad

    teatersroad Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Central Oregon
    It's a lot of work and head scratching to do what they are trying to do, patience. And check the support thread for updates.

    you can do a site search in google, follow your keywords with site:arboristsite.com, no spaces.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  8. Freehand

    Freehand YourPasswordIsInvalid

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    14,319
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Location:
    MILFY
    Boys,we have a winner here.I had the same fruitless searches but this fix works like a champ!:popcorn:
     
  9. ttyR2

    ttyR2 AboristSite Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Oregon
    in the Site Announcements subforum yesterday, they mentioned the search function wasn't working and that they were trying to resolve the issue.
     
  10. blsnelling

    blsnelling Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    44,518
    Likes Received:
    10,309
    Location:
    Franklin, OH
    Again, I ask why can't they put it as an announcement at the top of each forum? Many of us never read any other forums.
     
  11. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)
    Someone or some thing has put a AS block on my desk top PC.

    I still can't get on AS no way no how!

    If I do a google search for AS and click on link to come up in a new window
    it will close both pages. I have restarted, cleaned history.
    Any thing I try to get on AS it will close web page in the blink of an eye.
    Am on the wifes lap top, and no it wasn't her that blocked me :)

    I'm at a loss at what to try next...............help


    TT
     
  12. Freehand

    Freehand YourPasswordIsInvalid

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    14,319
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Location:
    MILFY
    What browser you usin' TT? I would start with clearing cookies,trying a different browser,or the regular placebo restart.....
     
  13. teatersroad

    teatersroad Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Central Oregon
    might have to disable NetNanny. ;)

    I agree, try a different browser. Firefox is my go to, Chrome is a quick download.
     
  14. blsnelling

    blsnelling Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    44,518
    Likes Received:
    10,309
    Location:
    Franklin, OH
    I'm having 0 problems using IE.
     
  15. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)
    I have no problems at all on Wife's Lap Top.


    It's just the desk top PC and only problem with it is AS.



    I need to stay off AS more anyway.




    TT
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  16. lawnmowertech37

    lawnmowertech37 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Carteret County , North Carolina
    Have you cleared your cache and history could be that causing the issue
     
  17. Trigger-Time

    Trigger-Time Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,717
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    U.S.A. :)


    Thanks, but yes I have.

    Thanks Again,
    TT
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  18. gemniii

    gemniii Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    va (but mainly own acreage in ms and vt)
    I don't believe you have to put in the words "site" and the .com as I suggested
     
  19. teatersroad

    teatersroad Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Central Oregon
    keyword site:arboristsite.com will take you to arboristsite server results only. I use this search feature all the time for craigslist searching. ie: Jonsered 670 site:*.craigslist.org , in this case the asterix is required because craigslist has a location prefix, the asterix acts as a wildcard so that all locations are shown. see google advanced search options. cheers
     
  20. Freehand

    Freehand YourPasswordIsInvalid

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    14,319
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Location:
    MILFY
    Alright Teater the AS search fix was cool,but the asterisk in the craigs search is absolutely brilliant!
     

Share This Page