DIY Auxiliary Oiler?!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SkySkrape

SkySkrape
Reaction score
Has anyone ever constructed their own DIY Aux oiler? I'm new to the aux oiler concept and would love to hear/see what others have come up with and results... I'm thinking of crafting a DIY aux oiler for my stihl ms660 with a 42" bar for milling. Can you provide pics and possibly advice for someone in the same boat? Thanks!

Absolutely! DIY. You just need a container that you can hang on the outboard end of your CSM, a way to regulate flow (a valve of some sort) and some tubing to deliver it to the cutting side of the bar. No need to notch or drill anywhere on the bar for the oil to get into the groove. Just so it drips or flows close to the chain. Check the Chainsaw Milling 101 sticky at the top of the page also. I made mine out of about a 8 or 10 inch piece of 3" PVC, holds about a quart, various fittings and parts, and clear tubing so you can see the flow. Sight gauge on the side of the container was made with a bit of the same tubing and two elbows, self-tapped into holes drilled into the PVC. I don't know how to do pictures.

I used a big old tin coffee can, compression fitting on the bottom with a valve and copper tubing to the bar. I then commenced to go a little overboard, by putting a check valve for a breather vent up top. No need. If I were to do it again, I would use a smaller coffee can, and proberly save two tops for it, one with some breather holes poked in it, and one stock for transport. I would put up pics but I dont have em on me

It's ok luckily my iPhone has this cool thing where I just turn it upside down. It worky just fine! Thanks for sharing