ArboristSite.com Sponsors

DIY concrete mixer plans?

Discussion in 'Off the Topic Forum' started by fields_mj, Jul 21, 2011.

1. fields_mj

fields_mj AboristSite Guru

Hey guys, I'm on a mission trip in Civadie, Haiti. We are building houses for orphans and the elderly. All lumber is imported here, and it is very expensive, so everything is made from concrete. We mix sand, rock, and lime on the ground with shovels, then mix in a bag or two of mortar, then add water. All mixing is done with shovels.

Being an engineer, I immediately determined that there HAS to be a better way than this. It's not as easy as just buying one in the states and shipping it down. They ship things down in containers and it costs $8,000 to ship the container. They can buy one in Port Au Prince, or go over to the Dominican Republic, but they are still expensive. So, I thought I would draw one up using materials that they have available locally, like 55 gal drums and lawn mower engines (or bicycles). Electricity is not an option. It is not available at the job site, and even where it is available, it's not reliable. Literally, half the time it's shut off.

Anyway, if anyone knows where I can find some plans for a concrete mixer that uses, could use, or could be modified to use a 55 gal drum, I would appreciate knowing about it. There is a welding shop down the road a ways, so they can have something fabricated.

Thanks,
    Mark

Hank Chinaski likes this.
  2. Hank Chinaski

Hank Chinaski Number 37

IMHO there's nothing more than looking at one and copying it. It's a drum set on an angle to rotate, ad a method to rotate it, and be able to tilt to remove the concrete after it's mixed.
    Don't over engineer/think it.

Most shops in countries like this can design/build it themselves if you'll just show them a photo and tell them how it operates.