Do you dry your wood in IBC totes?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donnarshmr

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I’m going to start using IBC tote frames to hold my firewood while it dries. I know some of you dry your wood this way because I’ve seen pictures, so I want to benefit from your experience.

1) Do you stack the wood properly or just jumble it in as you throw it off the splitter?
2) With however you do it, how long does it take to get most wood under 20% MC (in other words, is it as fast as stacking it in rows)?
3) If you stack, how tightly do you fill the tote? I’m cutting at 15” long, which technically gives me 3 rows fitting in an IBC frame. However, they’d be pretty much end-to-end in there. 2 rows would leave a >10” airspace between the rows, which might aid drying.

Is there anything else I should think about?

I've been using ibc cadges for a few years . I stack the logs pretty tight and leave roughly a two inch gap between each stack in the cadge and just keep filling until I can't get any more in then cover the top with some old roof sheeting with any heavy object I can find on top .

I would love to, if I could find some at a decent price. They seem to be like gold around here.

With a FEL, you could even stack 2 high and get twice as much wood under cover as you otherwise would.

I just started using the frames this year. I hosted a GTG this summer and discovered they work great for cookies.

I am also filling them with the "uglies" that don't stack well.

I don't use those, but build my own and they work great for storing, drying and moving large quantities of wood with a FEL tractor.

Is there a particular tote size that works better than the others? Thanks

Old potatoe boxes are also commonly used round here . They knock planks off to let air in .