Does anyone get nervous before climbing still?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Teamgtree&lawn

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Let me say that I'm not a rookie but I'm not yet a "veteran" Arborist, I've been climbing since 2009 and I've been ISA Certified since the beginning of 2015. I own a small tree care & landscape management company here in Kansas City. I've found that sometimes I still get really nervous about climbing, I take every precaution and I'm not moving fast at all, is this normal to still be nervous sometimes? I used to get really nervous when I first started climbing because I had a hard time trusting my gear. I never work alone and I plan the job out before it ever happens (a week in advance usually) Today were removing a medium black walnut that I will climb up and remove a few of the lower limbs before I drop it. Advice & tips welcome, Climb safe guys!
James

Your just a slower climber then some nothing wrong with that at all. But I will say this if you don't trust your gear with your life then don't get in the tree. You should without a doubt trust your gear hanging off a 200 foot crane over the grand cannon. If you don't trust your gear you'll all ways be nervous. But moving slow and checking and double checking will let you grow old with all your body parts.. nothing wrong with that. Good luck be safe we would love some pics.

I actually decided aginst climbing it today, we've had some batshit crazy "spring" weather and some pretty intense winds in the past few days. The tree has developed a pretty noticeable vertical crack at the base and 30 feet up. Going back on Monday with an aerial lift to remove it then.