Falling trees with an Excavator

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So, I got this big well medium Orange, diesel wedge...

And its pretty skookum and all, but I hear that a guy can dig a little and then shove a tree over with one...

Now I've tried this out a few times and as most of you know or should know I'm fairly new to the stick jockey side of logging, All I really know is hand falling and line skidding... Anyway, so I've had mixed results with shovin trees over, some go sideways, some go mostly where I'd like them, some seem to take a boat load more effort then I'd like them too.... Sideways is bad by the way...

Anyway any one got some tricks pics vids etc

And its pretty skookum and all, but I hear that a guy can dig a little and then shove a tree over with one...

Now I've tried this out a few times and as most of you know or should know I'm fairly new to the stick jockey side of logging, All I really know is hand falling and line skidding... Anyway, so I've had mixed results with shovin trees over, some go sideways, some go mostly where I'd like them, some seem to take a boat load more effort then I'd like them too.... Sideways is bad by the way...

We've always put an excavator or shovel on the back side and then cut them never dug them up, the one guy I did know that did that went over with one.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

I do pretty good with a 10ish ton machine around here, but I had a gum that went about 20 degrees to the left of where I wanted it to in late Feb- early March.

The "tap root" wasn't compromised completely, even though I'd dug all the way around it like I have so Many times.

There are so many variables:
Soil Condition
Lean of the tree
Terrain
Access of machine to the back side
Condition of the tree
Wind