Forestry Schools

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CMBetz

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Does anyone have an opinion about what forestry schools are best for the various disciplines?

UW Stevens Point (Point) has an excelent program.

The SSA (student society of arboriculture) has a list of member schools. Tim Walsh runs that show, he is an occational poster here.

Some schools have better reputations than others. In general, though, I recommend attending a school in the area in which you want to work. Although any quality school will go over various methods used in all parts of the country, the education will be centered on the forest types and practices around the school.

What I'm saying is, don't go to school in Georgia if you want to work in Coastal British Columbia, or vice versa.

Let me add a little more information -- I am a grad student in Forest Economics at Michigan State University. I am just looking for what other schools are well-known outside of the midwest for forestry, and for what disciplines.

Does anyone know of a home study or "distance learning" degree program? I'm a bit tied down to move. I know there are some good homestudy stuff through NAA and others, I'm looking for the Degree.

Louie Hampton

I like to think that I have a pretty good Urban Forestry/ Arboriculture program at MSU-Bottineau in ND. It is the old ND School of Forestry, since 1906. For more info check the links provided, Also some online courses listed at the second and third site provided.

Bob Underwood, Associate Professor of Forestry,MSU-Bottineau Webpage My webpage Arboriculture on-line