Help building,tuning a Strato, Husqvarna 445

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Husq445

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Been watching this site and hunting around for info on building my own saw, so far so good. Building a Husqvarna 445. Successfully did a muffler mod, this is a trick on these saws as they have a pot metal type alloy so I tig welded an aluminum pipe in 3/4" ID. (Show pics later if anyone interested) I am a specialized welder by trade so this was the easy part. I then widened the exhaust to within about .150 of the skirts may have lowered the port a little too. not much. I then reassembled and ran. The gains were signifigant, not unreal. Knowing this is a strato engine didn't want to mess with intake or transfers.......at first! Tore down a couple of weeks later lowered the intake some, but cannot go much wider than factory. Maybe .100 Tore the transfer runner covers off the block. smoothed out some of the corners and widened the port on one side towards the intake side alittle. Having hard time tuning with the general rules of tuning a 2 stroke. Setting so it 4 strokes at WOT seems like its running an ungodly RPM, nothing like factory.Gains cannot be that great on a 46cc saw? Any help tuning a strato would be great. :chainsaw: Rick

No tach yet, still looking. all the pics I have are of the muff mod that I am about to load. Never took any while tore down. Maybe I will just to get opinion. Rick

Some pics of the muffler mod. A little dawg change in these pics too. Plasma cut out of stainless steel.

Thank you. Yes it works. Had to trim the guard a little, but all functions well.
Rick