Help with Riding Mower?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larry Johnson

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I appreciate all the help with my chainsaw, was wondering if y'all could help with a riding mower that I picked up real cheap. It's a Murray with a briggs and stratton motor 21hp V-twin motor (model 406677 0344 E1). The mower sat for a few years when I acquired it. The previous owner said he thought the starter was bad. New items that I added: battery (350 cca), starter solenoid, starter, main wiring harness. Standardard maintenance performed: oil change, old gas removed, carb cleaned, new filters.

I have little mechanical knowledge, but I'm learning. Motor seems free with good compression. I don't have tools to measure. I've managed to get the new starter to slightly spin the motor, but then it starts clicking like a car does when the battery is weak and won't turn the starter. Could the rusty magnetoes(?) be the cause.

Here's a short video of my attempt to start it.

<p><a href="">With new 350cca battery</a> from <a href="https://vimeo.com/user57651465">Larry Johnson</a> on <a href="https://vimeo.com">Vimeo</a>.</p>

After posting, I cleaned the rust off the magnetos and magnet on flywheel, and all around the flywheel. Gapped with a business card. Only slightly better and can't get a full revolution out of it unless I pull the plugs. With plugs removed it went around 4 or 5 times, then slowed and started clicking. Gonna charge the battery tomorrow. Don't know what to try next.

I would check the intake and exhaust rocket arm clearance. If they are a little loose, it will not allow the decompression bump when rolling over. Even a new battery and starter will come to a stop.

I can't remember the specs, easy to find online though.