Hickory for tool handles - slabs vs staves

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oaktreeguy

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hickory trees, 12-18" or so in diameter, pretty straight. Would like to save for tool handles.

I'm thinking it makes sense to split them down the length to save staves? Or assuming the grain is pretty straight, maybe slabs are ok too? Slabs seem like they'd store (and later, work) more easily.

Any particular type of woodwork where hickory excels? I'm just getting started there so not sure if there's anything I should save some for other than handles.

Thanks!

have you cut into them already (and know their quality)? I had some 22" hickory and lots of plans but bucked it and nothing but ring shake so it became great firewood instead. As far as uses- chair parts, flooring.. you can substitute it anywhere for flat and casework, though i haven't heard of much in the way of turning. Old timers used to use it as pegging and hingework for doors that were solid wood. You can also you spring inner bark for chair latticing seats. People pay well for that if you can process it. Handles work as well as you mentioned- all my older impact hand tools have hickory handles. remember to save those offcuts for the firewood scroungers like me if you dont burn. great wood - good luck

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks!

Actually the hickory we took down today was 24"+ DBH. Got a majority of the limbs cleared. Trying to decide how how small out from the main trunk is worth milling. There are a few 6-10" limbs that are fairly straight out to a crotch that I may try to mill. All new to this, so learning, but appreciate everything everyone shares here!