Home made Kiln

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wingstress

Reaction score
This is my first post on this site, so please go easy on me. I did search for the last hour or so and couldn't find what I was looking for. I'm an addicted woodworker who a few years ago started making slab furniture because I found some in a barn at an estate sale. Now that I'm addicted to that and I have depleted all my slabs I realized the price of 8/4 slabs when bought commercially. Ouch!

I have a small Alaskan mill, which for the 4 weekends a year that I use it is plenty. However, what I can't stand is waiting for the wood to dry. I want to build my own kiln, but almost everything is solar powered (I live on a wooded lot and get very little sun on my property) Also drying takes 6+ weeks (again with my impatiences)

So I came across the sauno kiln unit from logosol which advertises because of the heat/steam it drys wood in a week. I would build it off the back of my shop so getting 220V is no problem. I was very seriously considering purchasing it, but the fine print right above the buy button, says that because of the acidic level of oak, it has to dry outside 1 year before putting it in the kiln. Well considering I'm surrounded by oak trees on my property and I was waiting a year anyway for my milled wood to dry, what the heck is the point of spending $1k-1.5K on a kiln if you have to air dry it anyway.

Does anyone know of another solution (No solar, 110V or 220V is fine, rough dimensions 12X4X4, has the ability to do oak, is faster than 6-10 weeks, costs around $1k)

thanks
Tom

Maybe contact Logosol and see if they can help find a solution to the oak issue. They are a good company with good customer service in my experience anyway.