How did you guys get over heights

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stgcutter

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
So I've been climbing on and off for going on maybe 2 years now. A guy that taught me everything from the beginning, has 20 years under his belt climbing. But I'm curious how any of you guys got over being up that high, like being a little nervous. I'm mean 65-70 ft +

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

rapelling, while in the Army. Especially the Helo rapell. Nothing like having NOTHING below you but 100 ft of rope, and a bird above you cannot climb back up to.

That being said, I still hate the climb obstacles, but not because of the heights. As a runner (not quite the upper strength of some of my peers), with somewhat poor depth perception, I hate hurdles, and climbing obstacles.

Yes I find if I just stay concentrated at first I'm fine. I just know what I'm trying to do and try to ever think about how high I am. I've heard guys tell me it didn't bother them a bit. Others say they're nervous the whole time but they get comfortable

I learned to deal with it climbing towers. If vertigo starts to set in, you stare at the rusty bolts and try to figure out if you could loosen them with a wrench, or if you'd need an impact tool. Literally, stare at something right near your face... count the carpenter ants or try to teach them sign language... anything that you can concentrate on. When the feeling subsides, slowly move on, thinking only about what you're up there to do, and nothing else. Don't watch the clouds (they move) or look at the ground (thing you're climbing is moving, your brain thinks the ground is, and panics a little) and keep doing that for awhile. Even if you're terrified of heights, if you stay focused on the task at hand, your brain will adjust and teach itself to ignore the height.