how necessary is a forced draft on an indoor wood furnace?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kielbasa

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm still deciding on which indoor add-on wood furnace to purchase (I'm leaning towards a Big Jack or Super Jack)....I noticed most of these furnaces have the forced draft blower motor on them, how often does it actually run? I have zero experience with a furnace that actually has one.
My home is extremely well insulated (thanks ICF!) and temperatures don't fluctuate where the home would be constantly heating up and cooling off....since my furnace will be placed in living quarters, and next to my bedroom (not hidden in the basement or a utility room), the looks without the draft blower are a little more aesthetically pleasing, plus if the fan is noisy I don't want the thing waking me up while trying to get my 5 hours of sleep per night.
I noticed the Energy King has it as an option, and it's quite nice looking (as far as furnaces go), anybody have any experience with an Energy King, and how often the draft blowers operate? Thanks for any input!

My furnace came stock with a draft blower. I'm in my 3rd winter using the furnace and in my case I dont use it at all. If I knew 3 years ago, what I know today, I would never have spent a 1/2 day of fishing a thermostat line from my wood furnace through sheet rocked walls, to a seperate thermostat upstairs.