Husqvarna 359 -Upgrading Bar, Gauge Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

super20g

Reaction score
Hello,

I just purchased a new Husqvarna 359, 18" Bar, 3/8" Pitch, .058" Gauge.

I have a (new) spare Husqvarna 20" 3/8" Pitch, .050" Gauge chain...

I am thinking of replacing the 18" bar with a 20" and using the spare chain I have...

Can I just put a 20" Bar, .050" Gauge on it with the spare chain of matching Gauge or do I need to do more such as replace the sprocket?

I am a newbie...

By the way, what is the reason one would pick .050" or .058" Gauge anyways? What are the benefits of one over another? Is one more common?

Hello,

I just purchased a new Husqvarna 359, 18" Bar, 3/8" Pitch, .058" Gauge.

I have a (new) spare Husqvarna 20" 3/8" Pitch, .050" Gauge chain...

I am thinking of replacing the 18" bar with a 20" and using the spare chain I have...

Can I just put a 20" Bar, .050" Gauge on it with the spare chain of matching Gauge or do I need to do more such as replace the sprocket?

I am a newbie...

By the way, what is the reason one would pick .050" or .058" Gauge anyways? What are the benefits of one over another? Is one more common?

You do not need to replace the sprocket,as for gauge It usually boils down to region and preferance.

Just swap out the bar, put your .058 on the trading post for someone who still uses that stepchild of questionable parentage size. Go .050 and don't look back

Thanks for the help guys!

Got any more tips on these 359's?

I'll use the search though and see what I come up with.

BTW, I'll be selling my trusty Husqvarna 480 CD that the 359 replaces. It's a beast with a 24" bar. Probably a collectors piece? Might be too young for some though.

Last edited: