husqvarna 372 build

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bob32racing

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Ive got a couple of 372s laying around im looking to build up. Both saws are low on compression and will need to be rebuilt. Im thinking i want to make one into a slightly modified work saw, then make the other one a full blown modified saw. For the slightly modified one i already have an unlimited coil and exhaust mod, was thinking just to add a big bore kit to that one. The fully modified saw will be just a play tool/conversation piece. It will also have an unlimited coil and exhaust mod...... But where to i go from there??? standard big bore, port and polished, sprocket size, crank, carb??/ What should i do to this saw? Im very good at working on these saws as i have 6 of them, im just new to the aftermarket performance part of it.

I am just finishing up the one in the picture. personally I would try and reuse the original cylinders if at all possible, and use a new meteor piston and caber rings. You should not need to do anything other than rebuild the carb and replace fuel lines. I have just mildly ported mine by cleaning up the inlet and exhaust and raising up the start of the transfer at the bottom of the cylinder. Afleetcomand has a really good vid on modifying these (weimdog on here). Delete base gasket but check squish.

Unless you really want to go for the doctor the above will give a really good strong saw. The good thing about the 372's is that you can get little bits and pieces to make it look nice and shiny, but while a buyer will cope with some new covers etc, the saw devalues a lot with an aftermarket cyclinder. The Mahle's are very high quality and unless trashed is likely to clean up well. Nice easy saws to work on.17523232_717990908381226_640774854150178431_n.jpg