Huztl / Farmertec 036? Another Kit Saw?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weimedog

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Video One Bottom End & Top End...

Video Two, I'm NOT a Stihl Mechanic! I muddled my way through the assembly of the rest....so this is the FIRST try.....Next time there will be a few "improvements", including putting the pulse line on the case side first, and ignition in before the carb, etc...you will see why. Need a better stratagy for re-assembly of the handle/throttle & throttle rod.

ALSO parts that were "less than good" included the Bar Oil pump and the Chain Brake Spring. Not thrilled with the chain brake band missing its "pin" and a few other details. Swapped some supplied screws for OEM, don't yet know about the chain adjuster......a Tweak & Tune video soon to follow with setup, tuning, and some reflections on what I would do different on the next one, an OEM re-build. (Including spark plug gap etc.) Along with some run time...weather allowing.

Mean time all information to those who really know these, I'm certain those who want to build one of these will be interested. I plan to "resurrect" an OEM Stihl 036, one of the early ones. Really looking forward to how a true OEM saw will be. Trying to decide on the break down of parts. It's seized. So New or used OEM top end? Piston, bearings etc. Will make that a "Dead Saw Salvage video......these are ALL new to me! Never spent much time with the Stihl's. Those MS660's have me wanting to go back a little and visit the Originals...So...hunting for old MS660's & 064/66 class projects for later in the year. What a great saw they were!

Nice work Weimedog!!!

What are your thoughts on the Hutzl 036 vs the Husky 61, 268, and 272's?

You may regret using the supplied muffler 'gaskets'.
723ab5cf68aa8878bc30e0f2b23ab379.jpg