ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


Im stumped on my new gadget! HELP

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by PLMCRZY, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. PLMCRZY

    PLMCRZY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok i got the Husqvarna filing kit and guide 5/32's i understand everything else but is this what this guy is for?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Is that how you properly use that depth gauge or can i use the other one that came with my 7/32s kit that has a soft and hard setting?
     
  2. GoRving

    GoRving Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Southside US
    I got one of those darn things, too..with the operating instructions, and I STILL can't use it. It won't saddle the bar all the way down so the file can get low enough on the teeth.
     
  3. PLMCRZY

    PLMCRZY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Texas
    Well darn! It seemed to saddle mine fine i guess i got the right idea.
     
  4. oscar4883

    oscar4883 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    PA
    Looks like you have the correct idea. The raker gauge is part of the roller guides that I have. Maybe try your placement on an old chain and measure how much it drops the raker.
     
  5. PLMCRZY

    PLMCRZY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Texas
    Well i put it on a new one and the raker was flush with the tool.
     
  6. oscar4883

    oscar4883 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    PA
    Thats why I said try a used chain. I would imagine that the raker wouldn't need to be dropped on a new chain. Not sure if the safety chain deal would affect that though. Would seem to me that you got it right.
     
  7. PLMCRZY

    PLMCRZY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Texas
    Ya i figured a new one wouldnt need to be drop so it should be flush. I guess i should check on a old chain as well cause if its flush then something is up.

    Could i use the gauge that came with the 7/32s kit? Seems much easer!
     
  8. oscar4883

    oscar4883 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    PA
    Could i use the gauge that came with the 7/32s kit? Seems much easer![/QUOTE]

    If it was only that wasy. LOL I think you got it right but if you use it on an old chain and measure the raker you will know if you are correct and also know how much it takes your raker down, 0.025, 0.030, etc. If it drops it like 0.050, you got it WRONG. :givebeer:
     
  9. PLMCRZY

    PLMCRZY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Texas
    If it was only that wasy. LOL I think you got it right but if you use it on an old chain and measure the raker you will know if you are correct and also know how much it takes your raker down, 0.025, 0.030, etc. If it drops it like 0.050, you got it WRONG. :givebeer:[/QUOTE]Ya this hand sharpening is a ART, good to know though. Ya ill check out it and see. Thanks alot!
     
  10. Brian VT

    Brian VT Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    310
    Location:
    VT
    I just bought that same kit. I was bummed the depth gauge wasn't attached to the roller guide like my 3/8 one. It does seem like it'll work on my chains, though.
    I have another issue. It seems I get more hook on the left cutters and I can't figure out why. I think I'm going to have to rig up a chain vice rather than sharpening them on the bar (except in the woods, of course).
     
  11. PLMCRZY

    PLMCRZY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Texas
    I should of bought a stump vise :( once we get our garage cleaned out after the garage sale one side is gonna be a shop ill rig something up for the saws then.
     
  12. Brian VT

    Brian VT Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    310
    Location:
    VT
    A stump vice wouldn't help my issue. I have the bar, still on the saw, in a bench vice. All I can figure is the link that I'm filing is lifting from the bar when I run the file through. I could tighten the chain, I guess, but to really eliminate the problem I think I need a chain vice. I have an old grinder that I can scrounge parts from.
     

Share This Page