Introduction/ Nose Bolt Vibrating Loose

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stick&string

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been pulling a bunch of information from this forum for a couple years now ( thank you everbody ). I got into chainsaw milling two years ago when i had a massive pecan come down in my yard. I bought ( and still use) a 36" Alaskan MkIII, and a 660. I milled the pecan and several eastern red cedars with it and have been very pleased with the lumber I have got.

I got the opportunity to mill a red oak that some friends had to take out due to the recent ice storms here. The tree is around 40" at the widest. I didn't have the funds to get the longer bar and rails for the mill, so I drilled the bar and drilled and tapped the uprights to get as much width as possible with the set up I have.

I have a hardened 1/4" bolt through the center of the sprocket in the nose. I had originally planned on a fender washer and a lock washer to keep the bolt from vibrating loose but if I tighten it down, it puts enough pressure on the sprocket to make it noticably harder to pull the chain around the bar by hand.

Plan b was to use the fender washer and some locktite to keep it from coming loose. I did some milling yesterday and everything was going well until half way through the afternoon when the bolt vibrated loose. I tightened it and finished the cut but had to keep tightening it during and after each cut.

What can I do to keep the bolt from vibrating loose? The benefits of bolting the bar to the mill are increased width and added safety but it doesn't seem safe to have to keep tightening the bolt that holds the tip of the bar in place.

I'm sure it's probably something simple I'm over looking or just haven't thought of but have any of you run into this?