Just Got Homelite XL

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aprules2

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Im new to working on saws, but I have experience working on cars and lawnmowers. I picked up an old Homelite Xl Automatic on Craigslist for $50. It sat for a long time, I flushed the gas tank out, changed the fuel filter, and cleaned the points.. After that it fired up on the 3rd pull. It runs awesome the torque actually makes you hand move when you rev it. I tried a test on a piece of wood in the yard and it cut well but slowed down slightly after. The saw seemed to have less power after that even in a free rev. Im wondering if the air filter fell apart and is clogging the carb. Where is it on the saw? Also how long of a bar can I put on it and what brand of chain cuts best. I was hoping to use a 16 or 18 inch bar if I could.

I ended up taking the saw apart and found where the air filter is and it was falling apart....

So now I want to get rid of the tiny chain bar on this thing. What bar and chain do you guys recommend?

16 to 20". I have both a 16 and 20 to put on mine when we get it running finally.

You are lucky that you got the older one with points. The newer blue coil ones frequently have coil failure.

Edit: My above posts references the XL automatic, not the XL shown in your post below.

It's actually just called the XL Automatic it's the model before the XL-2

Attachments

• 41230.jpeg
    41230.jpeg
    267.4 KB · Views: 30
That model is XL. XL automatic is the older saw that looks like a Super XL.

Those are smaller saws and bars run from 10-16". I wouldn't go over 16" on it.

Oh, I thought because it said automatic on the sticker I figured it was an Automatic XL. Buy anyway are the Oregon bars and chains better than the Homelites? Is there a really good cutting super sharp chain I should be buying instead?