My first time milling. Large oak.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TOlsen

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I removed a large post oak tree this past weekend, it had a 36" diameter trunk about 17' long. I've got it in two lengths ready to mill. I've never milled before. I have a 395xp and ordered a Alaskan mill and 42" bar with two chains.

I have read threw the tips and tricks page, but am still open to any advice. My plan for now is to start with a few slabs and see what they look like and how cracked the wood is already, then try and decided what can be done with it. You can see a few nails I cut threw, I imagine I'll find more as I go, I plan to borrow a metal detector. I'll post pictures as I go! IMG_20170911_124848.jpg IMG_20170911_124932.jpg IMG_20170911_125006.jpg

I'm new at milling as well. If you can strip the bark off it will help your chain stay sharp a bit longer. I've had trouble setting up my logs on a steep incline in that when I complete the cut the slab slides forward before I can get the mill out of the way. As steep as you have the short log I can see that happening. A friend uses a metal detector on logs for his bandmill. He told me that it only picks up a couple of inches in depth so you might want to pass over the log with the detector after each cut. Good luck!

I removed a large post oak tree this past weekend, it had a 36" diameter trunk about 17' long. I've got it in two lengths ready to mill. I've never milled before. I have a 395xp and ordered a Alaskan mill and 42" bar with two chains.