Need some tractor knowledge

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AIM

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I've been looking to buy a tractor. My biggest problem is that I have ZERO knowledge about them. My main goal for this tractor is (brush hogging, rear mount pto snow blower, dragging trees off the 3 point)
From what little I have learned I THINK need at least 50 hp. I definately prefer gas over diesel, power steering, live PTO, and I want to stick with what I consider to be a common unit, (JD, internat, case, ford, allis).
What I don't know is do I want a 2 speed tranny (hi-lo)
do I want a hand clutch (an old tractor guy says they are the best thing for brush hogging and snow blowing)
(something about the hand clutch is wet where the foot clutches are dry)
I just need some more info all around.

I want gas for 2 reasons. One is cold weather starting, and 2 is they are generally much cheaper to buy. Ya I figure I will be buying a pretty old unit. I'm looking for $5000 or less.

Independent is best. Independent has it's own on/off lever that controls it and is independent of the clutch. The lever is the only thing that turns it on and off. With live power You clutch the tractor, engage the pto, then let the clutch half way out. The pto then starts to turn but the tractor stay stationary. Let the clutch out all the way and the tractor moves.

Live power is nice when brush hogging because if you run over a stump or something, you can stomp the clutch and stop everything, pto, tractor and all.

I don't see where you would have to have 50hp, especially over in the flat land, but horse power is nice.

Some nice tractors in that range;

Ford 3000, 3600, 3610, 3910. about 42 pto hp when new
Ford 4000, 4600, 4610 about 52 pto hp when new
IH 424, 404 about 40 pto hp when new
Ih 544 about 54 hp