Oak Tree

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wort

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I had a young Oak tree growing on my property last summer until the beavers made away with it.
There are several other Oak tree's aproxiamately the same size on the property so i thought i would try and transplant one of them to the spot of the missing tree.
So my questions are - are Oaks easily transplanted
- is there a time of year that's best to do the transplant
- is there a min. or max. size / age of the tree that i need to be concerned about
- other than water and native soil would i need anything else

thanks

I'm no expert on growing trees but I think it would help the experts if you gave us your location. At least what hardiness zone you are in. GL

i would be concerned about beavers coming back. they like your oak trees.

1) Make sure you pick a tree worth moving---look for one with a nice dominate central leader
2) Move it when the tree is dormant (and soil is not frozen).
3) As for size that can be moved...really that is unlimited if you have the money to pay for the horsepower! More practically, measure the diameter of the tree 6" above the ground. This is called "caliper" in the nursery industry. Once you have that, you can know how big the rootball needs to be. See page 21 (33rd page in the pdf) in The ANSI Standard for tree planting. The chart shows rootball:caliper sizes.
4) Make sure it is not planted too deep.
5) Put a cage around it to protect from the beavers.

Will depend on species of oak too. Pin oak transplants quite well whereas white oak is far more difficult.

1) Make sure you pick a tree worth moving---look for one with a nice dominate central leader
2) Move it when the tree is dormant (and soil is not frozen).