Older 044 Questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrethegiant70

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Hi, Peeps! I'm hoping someone has a little feedback for me. I'm putting the finishing touches (as it were) on an 044 frankensaw (see the pics). I'll be the first to admit that I'm fairly new to the 044, so I'm learning. It needed some tank repair, some oiler work, and some clutch repair. It has the older style air filtration system and the serial number on it is #132229943. From reading previous posts, I think (but I'm not sure) this saw has the 12mm wrist pin....can anyone clarify this for me? The head does have the 45 degree fin pattern on it which I normally associate with the 10mm pins.... but maybe they have nothing to do with one another.

This thing has UNREAL compression (which is good while you're cutting but it can be a bear to start) and I'm toying with the idea of swapping to another 044 head I've got that has a compression release. From looking at the cleanliness of the exhuast port, I'm thinking that it has a fairly new top end in it.

So, the question is, do I stay with smokin' compression (I'm serious, this thing is a bit of a pain to crank) and wait for the saw to break in some, which will hopefully make it easier to start, or do I swap to a compression release setup? Can I assume porting on the existing piston will match up with the newer style head? I remember Andy saying that the older style ports were "horrible," therefore I assume they are not the same and may NOT match the piston.

Also, it seems to me that I read somewhere here on AS that the bolt pattern on the early saws is different than the newer ones. I believe that is incorrect, but I'm hoping someone can shed some light on that also.

Thanks in advance.

attachment.php

attachment.php