pointers on planing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zwing789

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have been milling for a couple years, hobbyist mostly. I am planning on upgrading my bar (see recent post http://www.arboristsite.com/community/threads/optimum-bar-size.265796/ ), but the hangup I am running into is how to finishe the larger slabs. I don't have access to an industrial size planer, I have a 13 inch planer that has served me well with some smaller slabs, here is some hickory I recently finished for a table top below.

Three solutions to finishing large format slabs come to mind.
1 the belt sander approach -- a last resort
2 rent time on a mills large planer -- not interested I got into this to do things on my own, I don't really want to pay for this service
3 Nick Offerman router sled

Attachments

• upload_2014-11-3_16-25-47.png
    upload_2014-11-3_16-25-47.png
    63.7 KB · Views: 23
  • FullSizeRender2.jpg
    FullSizeRender2.jpg
    43.9 KB · Views: 19
Here's some thing very similar to the offerman setup. IIRCC it has building the sled, rail setup and an easy way to ensure the end result is pretty much dead flat. You would just have to go back with a hand plane or sander to finish the job.
http://www.thewoodwhisperer.com/videos/flattening-workbenches-and-wide-boards-with-a-router/?category_name=split-top-roubo,techniques

I like that guy, I've seen him before doing Festool reviews. There are a couple good pointers in that video also. My main issue with the router method is that its going to have to be done inside and its going to be a mess. The more I think about it though I don't really see an alternative, I was hoping this post would turn up another option. Its so nice to just feed a board through a planer a few times, but I guess when you get into a bigger slab you limit your options.