Porting Muffler On Stihl 044 Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StihlRockin'

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Ok, before someone tells me to check the search and do my due-diligence, I will do that. LOL!

My question is how much difference in performance should I expect if I port the muffler on an 044?

I'm not a saw mechanic. I only run them... and run them well.
icon10.gif
LOL! How can increased performance be quantified? Can porting the muffler on my 044 give me noticeable difference? If so, how? Increase in horsepower? How much? 10%? 5%? Increased speed?

Will the enhanced performance be that when I fire up my saw and start bucking wood, my first reaction will be "Woah!...this thing is rockin'!" ?? LOL!

I did some reading on porting which only amounted to a few minutes, so that will be next, but it would be nice to see if someone ported their 044 and felt if it were worth it?

Thanks,

StihlRockin'

15-20% drop in cut times depending on what you do a dualport cover is available at your stihl dealer. Richen up the carb a tad afterwords.
If you end up wanting to port your saw you can send it to a saw builder and $250.00 later you will have a woods ported saw. If you want to attempt it yourself read read read read and just set your squish widen the ports a little and don't raise the exhaust port too much. I ported my 260 and the differance is like night and day between stock.

Last edited:
Hmm? An increased performance from a 260? Interesting. I just got a great... no, super conditioned 026 Pro and never thought doing a muffler-mod on a smaller saw like that would make a difference. Looks like I'm wrong there and have much learning to do!

Thanks for the reply.

StihlRockin'