ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


Poulan 3000 rpm

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by MISteve, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. MISteve

    MISteve ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Berrien Springs MI
    Anybody have specs on a Poulan 3000 saw? Looking for max rpm.
     
  2. redunshee

    redunshee Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    394
    Location:
    Texas, but spend time in Vermont
    I have two but checked the the max rpm's . I don't as a rule turn the Hi speed screw less than 1 turn open. I normally tune it so it 4 strokes out of the cut and cleans up while cutting at wot. To check, I shut the saw off while its cutting at wot and check the plug color. I look for a light brown color of the plug. That indicates its tuned correctly and not too lean.
    Bob
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  3. MISteve

    MISteve ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Berrien Springs MI
    That is what I have done for years and it has worked. Got a tach for Christmas, been checking some of my saws. Had one of my 3000's since late 80's. What a saw, good, usable power.
     
  4. redunshee

    redunshee Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    394
    Location:
    Texas, but spend time in Vermont
    I suppose I should get it out and tach it but I haven't. Guessing I'd say max rpm's are 10,000 or so. Only reason I say that is Poulans tend not to be high revving saws,eg. my 3400, 3700 etc might hit 10,500 when running well.
    Bob
     
  5. Stihl-Pioneer

    Stihl-Pioneer Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    275
    Location:
    RI
    I am not sure, modifiedmark may know. I looked at an older brochure I have that has the pp336 at 13,000 and the pp365 at 12,500 which are similar in design to the 3000.
     
  6. Modifiedmark

    Modifiedmark Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,469
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    The only thing I know for sure is that Bob needs to remember that this is a completely different series of higher reving saws than the 3400 series and that the service manual list the max power rpm at 9000.

    I know the pp330 is rated at 13800. I'm guessing a stock 3000 should. be around 13000. My 3000 is muffler modded still 4 stroking pretty good at wot and I would be surprised if it's not doing 13500.
    I understand the desire to play with a new tach but there not all that for tuning a saw and in my opinion are best used as a sole tuning device only on rev limited saws.

    To the OP, the 3000 as you know is a great chainsaw, but if its not broke dont fix it. Use your new tach on the saw after you have tuned it the old fashion way and then use your tach on it to see just where its at for future reference
     
  7. redunshee

    redunshee Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    394
    Location:
    Texas, but spend time in Vermont
    Ok. I'll bow to Stihl-Pioneer and ModifiedMark. Guess I'll have to get mine out and see what its running at.
    Bob
     
  8. Modifiedmark

    Modifiedmark Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,469
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Please do, as I said I was speculating myself and I just the other day ran mine dry for storage till I get the next chance to use it.
     
  9. redunshee

    redunshee Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    394
    Location:
    Texas, but spend time in Vermont
    Well Mark, I decided to check my 3000 out today. It cut great and tached out at 11,800. Checked plug a and it was gray so I think there is more left.
    Bob
     
  10. MISteve

    MISteve ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Berrien Springs MI
    Appreciate the info. The reason for the tach is that I have started to work on saws for others which has me working on multiple brands. I kind of need to know if my ear is correct, since that is all I ever have used. I keep an eye on plug color as well. I doubt I will change the 3000 any, but just wanted to know.
     
  11. Modifiedmark

    Modifiedmark Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,469
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Since your working on others saws and if your in doubt of your ear, keep a test log in the back yard to double check your tune that way. Up and out of the log a little 4 stroke that should clear up as soon as it hits the wood.

    Lots of newer saws are rev limited and on a stock saw the tach is then needed to make sure your top speed is under the rev limiter cut off. You will know right away if you hit the limiter as your tach readings will go goofy.
     
  12. Modifiedmark

    Modifiedmark Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15,469
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Yeah you might be surprised how much is left but when its in the wood, thats all that matters. WOT out of the wood dont really mean much at all.
     
  13. MISteve

    MISteve ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Berrien Springs MI
    Can't argue with that advice, it has been working for a long time. Back when I raced motocross, we tuned by sound. Those who went with highest revs and horsepower, usually could not use it anyway, and my engines lasted longer than theirs.
     

Share This Page