Poulan WildThing Fuel Hoses

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mediorce

Reaction score
My first post. I hope I don't screw this up!

I got a Poulan Wild Thing 2075 from a friend. Like new condition but the fuel hoses were rotted off.
The left hose comes from a filter in the tank to the carb. The right hose seems to just stick into the tank.

My questions are: Which hose goes where and what is the purpose of that right hose that seems to just stick into the tank?

I've attached a picture.

Thanks,

Poulan

I am not an expert on the make but from what I see is what looks like a line coming from the gas tank going to a primer and then to the choke side of the carb. The other line closet to the cylinder should be the main gas line in.

You have a primer bulb in the mix, so the plumbing is critical.
Looking at the "top" fuel line in the pic, that one goes to the long line in the tank attached to the fuel filter.
The lower one on the right goes to the inlet side of the "primer".

It is actually a "purge" and pulls the fuel through the carb, the "primer" bulb
has a check valve, so you need to find its direction of flow.
The other line from the bulb, returns to the tank.

are the yellow gold colored hoses the old rotted, or new replacement?

I am wondiering if it is tygon tubing and has rotted out?
The yellow gold Tygon brand hose is expensive, but once changed, I have never had to replace again on any motorcycle or small engine I have used them on. I am curious if they eventually do have problems with certain fuels or fluids....

kcj

poulan wildthing

The yellow tubing in the picture is the replaced tubing which I think is tygone.

Upon closer examination the fuel feed hose from the filter goes to the primer ball which directs it to the upper nipple on the carb.

I pumped the primer and it squirts fuel in the direction of the carb.