Question about burning wood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mistaare

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Quick background, have a small insert that I have been using daily for past 4 winters, probably 16-20 hr day, 3-4 cords a winter. Every summer get liner/chimney/flue professionally cleaned and guy says minimal amount of soot is built up. I personally buck and split all the wood I burn and this year the wood being burned has been covered for two years, now I will admit I am still learning types of trees but I do know not to burn pine. Well, last week I was about to put this piece (see picture) into my insert when, after looking at the bark, I thought it could be a piece of pine? I smelled it, and couldn't smell anything, but after pealing apart some of the bark, my wife (who has a much better sense of smell than I) says it smells a little bit like pine but she could say for sure and there was no sap to be seen. Now, I am about a 1/3 through this cord of fire wood so now I'm paranoid thinking a few pieces might have gotten burned! Most of this cord has been maple and poplar. So the question is:
- can anyone ID this? The bark is wet from sitting out in the rain.
- if it is pine, should I get my flue cleaned out again just for a precaution? I doubt I burned any, but maybe a few pieces got past?
Thanks for the help!

ff808e22130fa6e92d236e204494e3d1.jpg
00a9d9bbe367f1776190e8793d2ec879.jpg
dc556fc1f131c007bbf0c0e5d8027775.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Great reference pic Gugi

ATH, would there be sap within the wood itself or the bark? I have never messed with pine.

Ray - great reference, my buddy burn a lot of pine out in Colardo

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk