Read valve build?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MANesler

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I am new to the hot saw world but have many years of experience on 2 stroke atvs and bikes. I was wondering why I never see old saws with reed valves be built into race saws? I was always under the impression that reed valves were a huge provement for 2 strokes, and aloud for a longer intake duration. And more air fuel? Any thoughts and opinions would be appreciated. PS does anyone have a 120cc + saw with reed valve intake for sale?

I hear boost ports are are really easy to add to a reed valve engine, channel them right up through the intake port but I have never personally used them......

All the old guys built reed saws cause that's way they had, I can't say for sure but I think it has to do with what your needs are whether you use reed valve or no