Reading chips...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reilly

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I know typically when I fell trees that I have pretty good size chips that are thrown and I am new to milling but when I mill, using 2 brand new Stihl ripping chains, that my chips are more like powdered sugar and the rips take about 15 minutes for 8 foot logs. Is this normal? I do run a file across the chain after each rip and am using an auxiliary bar oiler. Thanks, Mike.

Yeah you won't see normal chips when milling. Cut time will depend on tons of variables from wood type to the way you sharpen your chain. Get the log up off the ground and set it up at a nice angle so the weight of the saw and mill can help feed itself down the log. As you learn more and get more time on the mill your cut speed will improve some but it's not a fast process when chainsaw milling.

Excellent thank you. I knew it was a slow process, I was just checking to make sure I'm not doing more wrong than right lol... BTW.. the wood I am milling is just felled DF. I am wondering if it would be best for me to let this stuff sit for a couple years before milling, or would it make any difference as far as pitch is concerned.

Yeah, I don't read chips very well when milling, I just watch for real fine stuff as an indication I've gone too long without sharpening. Each log is a little different. Sometimes when you get into a crotch or something it can throw some normal looking chips for a portion of the cut. Anything spalted gets weird, too, and the saw can just fly through the softer areas throwing some monster chips.