Rec climbers in Western MA?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TreeChickee

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm a student at Stockbridge (at UMass Amherst), and I was just wondering if anyone else climbs in this area or knows of any good spots to climb nearby? I've been climbing a lot on campus, there are a few good trees, but I'm thinking I might want to try some places off-campus (preferably close by), figured I'd ask if anyone knew some good spots.

Thanks!

Nobody? I get out there to climb once in a while but not enough to be much use to you. Be careful about the hunting season if you get out into the woods in your area to climb, wear bright colors.
-moss

Thanks anyway!
I went out a few weeks ago with a couple of other people, only about 5 minutes from campus, we didn't even think of hunting season until we were getting ready to pack all of our gear up. We weren't really sure if anyone could even hunt where we were, but either way, we're definitely going to remember next time!

Thanks anyway!
I went out a few weeks ago with a couple of other people, only about 5 minutes from campus, we didn't even think of hunting season until we were getting ready to pack all of our gear up. We weren't really sure if anyone could even hunt where we were, but either way, we're definitely going to remember next time!

No pics?:(

Unfortunatley, no. :(
And it would've been the perfect spot for pictures too, we got to the top of a 90' hemlock, and it was just mountains and fall color all around. I realized that my camera was in my dorm room (where I usually forget it... haha) once I got to the top. Figures.
But... I'm going climbing tomorrow, and I'm hoping that since one person has a car that he might want to drive back there and climb that tree again- it was a blast!- and I will *hopefully* remember the camera this time!